ictawards2005 winners

Winners of the MNCC Excellence ICT Awards 2005

The Award Ceremony for the ICT Excellence Awards 2005 was held on 6 September 2005 at the Malaysian International Exhibition and Convention Center (MIECC), the Mines Resort, Kuala Lumpur in conjunction with the Malaysia ICT Month 2005. This year's winners are:

[ Back to MNCC Home Page ]


Excellent ICT Teacher - Prof. Datin Dr.Halimah Badioze Zaman

The award goes to Prof. Datin Dr. Halimah Badioze Zaman from University Kebangsaan Malaysia. Prof Datin Dr. Halimah has been a professor in Multimedia in Education since 1999. Besides her normal teaching of undergraduate students in the final years, since 1994 she has also taught and supervised over 100 postgraduate students at both Master and Doctorate levels. She has been the Head of the Department of Information Science as well as the Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Technology and Information Science from 2002 till May 2005. Currently she is also a member of the UKM Senate.

Prof. Datin Dr.Halimah has carried out numerous research in the area of Multimedia in education and had her findings presented in several international conferences and proceedings as well as published in reputed academic journal locally and overseas. She has been recognised as a leading instructor and researcher both within the country and internationally. She was a winner of several Gold medals for research and innovation and has contributed immensely to the success of the MSC Smart School project. Prof. Datin Halimah is the first woman to be a winner of the Excellent ICT Teacher Award. It is appropriate to note that over the last 8 years she has passionately brought to bear the benefit of multimedia technology, e-Learning and Knowledge Management on to the community at large and women in rural areas in particular

Excellent ICT Student - Mr. Teo Choon Hui

The winner for 2005 is Mr. Teo Choon Hui from the University Tunku Abdul Rahman.. He has graduated with First Class Honours degree in Computer Science besides being a consistently a high achiever throughout his academic career. In 2003 he was awarded the Book Prize for outstanding performance in Diploma in Computer Science. Besides his academic achievements he has also secured a Certificate in PC Repair and Maintenance from University Putra Malaysia. In 2004 he won the best PIKOM IT Student Award and obtained a Certificate of Distinction in the e-Genting Programming Competition organised by Genting Berhad. He was also the First Runner-up of the UTAR Mathematics Competition in 2004.

Mr. Teo has also been actively involved in extra-curricular activities. He was the Chairman of Mathematics Society of his University for the 2004-2005 session. In 2005 he was appointed the Vice-Chairman of the Orientation Committee. Currently he is engaged in a research internship at the National ICT Australia (NICTA) until November of this year.
Back to the winners' list

Open Source Software - Electronic Human Resources Management System Suite (e-HRMS Suite)

The winning software is the Electronic Human Resources Management System Suite (e-HRMS Suite) jointly developed by Mr. Ditesh Kumar and Mr. Mohanaraj Gopala Krishnan. The software is well-designed with commendable functionalities. The functionalities are also flexible and user-defined. It was created with the object Oriented PHD design in mind. It is popular with the OSS Community with over 5000 downloads as well as an average of 14 hits per day. The software also is undergoing continuous development and improvement which could enhance its usage.
Back to the winners' list

Local Community ICT Champion -Mr. Abdul Said Bin Hussain,

The winner for this year’s Local Community ICT Champion is Mr. Abdul Said Bin Hussain, a school teacher at Sek. Men. Keb. Balik Pulau. Apart from his busy schedule as a school teacher, Mr. Abdul Said is also actively involved in educating and promoting awareness on the importance of ICT knowledge to the local community through his involvement as the Chairman of the Pusat Internet Desa (PID) and as a member of the working committee for Pusat K-Komuniti (PKK) both of Balik Pulau. Through his keen support and active involvement in promoting the PID project, the center in Balik Pulau has been able to reach various members of the community where most of the PID beneficiaries are senior citizens, women and youth. Concerning his involvement in the PKK program, Mr. Abdul Said initiated classes and workshops on ICT at kindergarten, school and teacher  levels in Balik Pulau.
Back to the winners' list

Best School Website - Sekolah Kebangsaan To’Uban, Pasir Mas, Kelantan

The winner for the Best School Website Competition goes to Sekolah Kebangsaan To’Uban, Pasir Mas, Kelantan. The website is extremely well-designed and easy to navigate. Its contents are excellent and presented in a visually pleasing style.
Back to the winners' list

Most Creative Mobility Application - AnjalMobile

The winner of the Most Creative Local Mobile Application goes to AnjalMobile, by Murasu System Sdn. Bhd.  AnjalMobile is a multi-language mobile communication platform that currently focused on Tamil-English SMS transliteration.  It is the world's first SMS software in the Tamil and Sinhala languages, while other languages such as Khme, Lao, Malayalam and Telugu are currently being developed.

AnjalMobile has been launched in Singapore with a major media company.  It is now being deployed in Sri Lanka and India.  It was also recently being soft-launched in Malaysia with a major media company.
Back to the winners' list